My Opinion: Don’t Judge a Book by Its Cover

I’m starting something new. These opinions come up in my head at random moments which make me want to write about them.

 

Don’t judge a book by its cover.

 

      Everyone knows the metaphor, but do people really follow it? I know I don’t. One of the first things I do before I check out or buy a book is I look at the cover. I ask in the back of my mind, “Does this look appealing and peak my interest?” Every single one of my favorite books (Children of Willseden Lane is the exception since I was required to read for school) I judged the cover and I knew for some reason that it would be a good book. The covers that interest me the most either involve music, a nice scenery, or a design that is outside of the box and colorful. In some cases, judging a book by it’s cover isn’t the best idea, but with me it works out 90% of the time.

 

I was debating to write a separate post for the 2nd part, but it will be weird if I did. So I will continue on this subject on why I judge books by their cover.

 

I seem to be an extremely observant and meticulous person so everyone might not see the things I see/notice. When I first look at a book, there are 3 main things I look for: title, color, and symbolism.


The title of a book needs to peak my interest. If the book is already a series, I like to see patterns. The patterns could begin with a certain prefix, end with a certain suffix, or have a certain would repeated. For example, my favorite series is Divergent, and the sequel to it is Insurgent. They both end in –gent and I know that the final book in the series coming in October this year will follow the same pattern. The title could also make me want to know what a certain word means. I’ll use Divergent as an example again because I didn’t know what the word meant and figured it out by reading through it (I dare not look in a dictionary for a definition until after so I don’t ruin the fun of learning the word through the book’s interpretation).

 

The color of a book should cause me to create a mood that makes me think what may happen in a book. As I go through the book, I ask myself if I was even close to what I thought it would be. The Matched series’ (another one of my favorites) covers each have a different bright colored orb/tablet, which caught my eye the second I was looking for a new book to read.

 

A book must make me think it has symbolism based on its cover. How can you distinguish if it’s symbolic or just whatever? Well I ask the question: Why is this book designed or presented the way it is? I usually take a guess similar to the title and see what happens. I can use the Divergent series, Matched series and The Hunger Games series for this answer since their on my top 26 favorite books (or my ultimate favorites) and I judged them based on my thought process.

A question for Divergent (just the book) I thought of was: Why does it look like an outline of an eye on fire? A combo question for Matched (again just the book) I thought of was: Why is that girl stuck in an orb and why is it green? Finally, I sometimes looks at a series of a whole (if the series is completely finished already) and see the possible symbolism. The Hunger Games series would be my final example. Before I read the series (it was all written before I even read it), I looked at the progression of the books. Several questions ran through my mind. First, it was: Why is there a bird on every cover and what could it represent? Next, I came up with: Why does the bird eventually look like it’s getting ready to fly? Finally, if you look very carefully I noticed the lines…that led to the question: Why is the circle cut and broken into pieces by the end of the series’?

 

What are you thoughts? You’re welcome to post your opinions in the comment box below!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

